Greetings!

I've been playing guitar for a couple of years now, mostly just playing along with songs or simple pentatonic soloing. I want to step up my game though, and I figured to best way to begin doing this, is by having a solid understanding of music theory.

I've got somewhat of a foundation in music theory. I understand the intervals, a couple of scales, how chords are built from scales. The problem is I don't really know where to go from here. I tried learning modes but it doesn't make sense to me yet. There's just so many things I need to know.

What would be a good idea from here? Try to tackle modes or is there something else I should focus on?

Thanks a bunch!
Have you thought about how theory relates to sound and practical music? Even though you might know that a ii-V-I progression is "theoretically correct" and functional, you might not recognize that progression in music. Even though you know that C-D is a major second, you might not understand how to use it in music. Even worse, you might not even recognize it by ear.

Theory is only useful in songwriting if you know how to apply it, and if you understand that theory is just a supplement that will never replace your own ears and intuition. When you say you understand intervals, scales and chords, I don't really believe that. I'm sure you can name intervals and play them, and you can play scales and chords, but that does not mean that you understand their true function at all.