Why is it that so often guitarists (or, really, musicians in general, but I'm a guitarist, so that's my focus here) never really seem to progress their chops once they get out there? What I mean is, often, the level of technique displayed on an artist's debut record sets the bar in regards to skill set for the rest of their career. It's rare to, say, hear a guitarist start with pentatonic blues solos on their fist record and then, over the course of time and releases, incorporate more advanced sweeping techniques or two-handed tapping or whatever. Many times, they kind of find what worked for them the first time and stick with it.

There are, of course, exceptions. Judas Priest began their career with the relatively simple blues-based leads typical of metal's early era, and then eventually moved onto more intricate techniques by the time they got to Painkiller in the 90s. Fates Warning also finds ways to push the envelope from record to record. Mark Tremonti has progressed somewhat since his early days in Creed. However, these examples, as far as I can tell, are exceptions rather than the rule.

This phenomenon doesn't just apply to guitarists who start simply either. Yngwie Malmsteen began his career showcasing already virtuosic ability, but has continued on pretty much the same kind of level ever since , even though later guitarists have created and honed some really cool techniques. You won't, for instance, see Yngwie trying out any of the piano-style two-handed tapping of players such as Chris Broderick, Michael Romeo, or Tosin Abasi.

I just wonder why this is or if anyone has insights. Is it a matter of "if it ain't broke don't fix it," or is it just that touring musicians don't have the time anymore to develop new techniques? Does the advanced guitarist, at some point, cease to try to further dexterity in order to focus on creative diversity?
What are your thoughts?