Hi UG folks. So I am an untrained guitarist but I have been playing (consistently) for about four years now. I like to consider myself intermediate in the sense that I can move my fingers accurately and quickly on the neck, learn other "intermediate" ranked songs, and know a relatively large amount of chords just through experience.

My downfall is that I lack the knowledge of music. I have been trying to teach myself the basics of music theory, and although I understand them, I am having trouble applying them to the guitar (I.E. what scales to use when, what notes are where, etc.)

I have routed this downfall is in two reasons: (1) I don't have the major scale patterns memorized and (2) I don't have the notes of the guitar neck memorized.

Do you guys have any other tips that can help take me off of this plateau from meritocracy to expert? What's the best/most efficient way to memorize the finger patterns? What else should I learn?

Thanks
By ear.

That is the one answer I have of which you can be certain it will give you the quickest way to properly put any scale down into your subconscious to the extent that you can effectively, musically, use it. You will automatically put identities and definitions to the notes, and learn to adjust that to context. A simple method would be to take a minor or a major chord, and learn to play those notes as an arpeggio. Then learn to add in notes between those three/four chordnotes and after that find out what scale coincides with the sounds you've tried to create.

I'm not often this brief, but unfortunately it is rather late, so perhaps I can elaborate tomorrow.

Good luck
Wise Man Says: The guitar is obviously female, she's got hips, breasts... and a hole.
UG's Flamenco Club
lucasroy37 start with C major scale and A minor scale- those two will show you where the basic notes are.

Then play the C major scale using chords ( harmonized major scale)

It all starts with that.