I started playing the guitar a year ago, and i felt i was doing great. 3 months ago, i bought an electric guitar as my goal was to play blues and improvise. however when i started i got very confused, lost interest, and became demotivated. so if anyone could help me with my questions, that would be amazing.

-what are minors and majors?
-what are notes?
-what are root notes, 5th notes, octaves?

thank you so much
all that is music theory. how could you be playing for a year and not know what notes are? A-G with sharps and flats. take a little time to look it up. it takes way more than a year or especially 3 months to learn to play the blues and be able to improvise. if you don't understand even basic music theory then of course you ar lost.
Quote by Ouri2011
I started playing the guitar a year ago, and i felt i was doing great. 3 months ago, i bought an electric guitar as my goal was to play blues and improvise. however when i started i got very confused, lost interest, and became demotivated. so if anyone could help me with my questions, that would be amazing.

-what are minors and majors?
-what are notes?
-what are root notes, 5th notes, octaves?

thank you so much
Try asking questions like this in Musician Talk next time, as this sub-forum (New Member's Sandbox) is not for music talk, as you see.

Here is a basic explanation of those concepts.

Minor and Major refers to two things: Either a Minor or Major scale, or a Minor or Major chord. So the G minor / G major scale, or a G Minor / G major chord. Notes are the musical tones that make up music. Root notes are the root note of a scale or chord. A G major scale has the root note of G, a G major chord has the root note of G. 5ths are notes located at the 5th degree of a scale. So a G major scale is G, A, B, C, D, E, F#, G. The 5th of that scale is D. Octaves are two notes of the same "sound," but double the frequency measures in hertz. So a G at 196hz, and one an Octave up at 392hz.