Major scale chords - Why are there minor chords and flats in the key of C Major, other questions?

I'm studying Major scale chords from this image.

I printed it off on paper, and below each box, I'm writing down the notes of each string for my "homework". Now I'm left with questions:

1. Why are there a D minor, E minor, A minor, and B flat chords in the C Major scale? There shouldn't be. The half-steps (flats, sharps) are B, C, and E, F. I spent a lot of time trying to figure this out, but I'm stumped. The image is titled major scale chords, not minor chords.

2. As I expected, when I figured out the notes for each string as I wrote them down, every note is in the C Major scale, with one execption: the last chord in the key of C, is B flat. It has 2 B flats. Why would there be a B flat note in a chord in the C major scale?

I'm not a very advanced guitar player if you haven't figured that out yet :P

Thanks in advance
Learn about chord construction and intervals. Major chord = major third and perfect fifth (counted upwards from the root note). So for example C major chord = C E G because there is a major third (4 frets) between C and E and perfect fifth (7 frets) between C and G.

Now, lets look at the next chord in the key of C major. The root note is D, the other notes are F and A (because when you construct chords from a scale, you always pick every second note. C D E F G A B. Start from D and pick every second note. D F A). There is a perfect fifth, 7 frets, between D and A, but only 3 frets between D and F. This is not a major third, it's a minor third and that's why the chord is called D minor.