Hello everyone,

I have been playing guitar for almost 4 years and I decided to get a new gear. I am completely out of touch with guitar gear world and I am looking for someone to help me out. My amp is really outdated and doesn't satisfy my needs anymore.

My current gear:
- Spear RF-150 RT 66 guitar
- Spider III 30W

I play guitar at home only. I am into GnR, Metallica, Megadeth, Nirvana, Pink Floyd, AC/DC, Guthrie Govan, Hendrix. I like to record my stuff and experiment with different tones and styles. I play with and without heaphones (50\50). I want to get into home recording and I want my gear to get as close as possible to the original sound of my musical influences. I have been searching on the internet for some modelling amps but I am not completely sure what I need in my case.

I would like to get a new pair of headphones and good practice amp. My budget is 450$-500$
Things I have found so far:
- Amps: Yamaha THR10X / Yamaha THR10 / Line 6 Spider 5 / Fender Mustang III / Vyper Tube 60
- Headphones: really don't know where to begin

I look forward to hearing your thoughts
Vypyr tube 60 would be my choice from your list for the music you play. It is far better than the others for heavy stuff. You may still be left wanting though as you have pretty specific wants. A modeling setup like the Pod & quality headphones might deliver better tones within your budget. You could add powered monitors or a FRFR powered wedge to make noise live but it sounds like you don't ever play out so that may not be necessary. Most guitar amps are designed to get loud and play live. You don't have to use them that way but that is their purpose.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis