Hi all,
Relative newbie here.
I have a physical difficulty with fretting hand. Long story short, severed all tendons to fingers, screwed up surgery and resultant loss of strength and individual finger movement. It basically means I'm restricted more to bar chords and rhythm playing. The problem I can't really resolve well is the requirement to rely on bar chords (I won't bore you with the medical reasons but trust me I am restricted to mostly bar chords) whilst at the same time having a very weak hand. Even after a couple of years I'm restricted to very short practice sessions, more than 20 min and I literally lose all feeling in my fingers. I've been through the light string gauge options but now realise I need to go to a shorter scale (learnt on 25.5).
I actually like the whole Gibson/ Epiphone sound but my big hands (I'm 6' 2") make bar chords up the neck problematic and I have to be able to play them up there really. What would be ideal doesn't seem to be around and I'm hoping someone has a lead. The shorter scale with less frets, meaning more room in the frets for big hands. To me it seems a really obvious missing market point. A shorter scale with room in the frets equivalent to a 25.5 scale. The vast majority of punters (hell most guitar players period) never use the upper most frets anyway (sorry to all you shredding experts but that is the reality). It seems a really obvious answer for big hands to offer the shorter scale with more fret room by dropping 1 or 2 very rarely used top frets and gaining some fret room.
Is there a model or maker I am unaware of that offers a 24 3/4 scale with 21 (actually 20 would be even better) frets?
Cheers,
G
Welcome to the forum.