I am starting to learn some chords and some songs that comprise of some basic ones, but, why are chords so important?
Sorry if I am ignorant or do not know why but I am very new to guitar
Hello,

Glad you're a fellow guitar player . Very briefly, and being a little loose with music theory for a moment, chords allow flavors of music. For example, 1,3,5 is major (bright), 1, 3b, 5 (minor) is less bright more 'sad'. Chords are one of the basic building blocks of music. Chord progressions (chords in a certain order) define how a song sounds. You can play chords as arpeggios so they are single notes, but the beauty of guitar is that you can play more than one note at once to give it a full sound--unlike voice, saxophone or trumpet for instance. You can play a guitar a single note at a time, but that would limit your expression--unless it's a self imposed limitation. I'm not sure of a style of playing that doesn't at least occasionally use chords, but I'm sure it exists somewhere. Good luck with the chords!!

JM
JeffMoore

A good explanation. Most western music is polyphonic - more than one note sounding at once - and the guitar is capable of capturing a lot of this as a solo instrument, if you take the trouble to learn how.
DrumL355..Hi..first never be sorry for not knowing something...remember..the "stupid" question is the one NOT asked..

basic music: I will show you a very short example of how/why chords are born. I recommend you read some books/online posts on "music theory" they may answer some of your questions

chords are formed from the Major Scale (and from other scales also..but for now..we will stick to the Major

this is the C Major Scale....
C D E F G A B

From this collection of notes I will form two chords: C major and D minor

C Major has these notes C E G
D Minor has these notes D F A

notice the notes are "every other note of the scale" to form the chords--these chords only have 3 notes and are called triads