So last week I bought an epiphone dot, because I've been playing lighter music recently, but I got the opportunity to interview for a fairly well known local band, that happens to play metal. It's this newer kind of stuff in B tuning and all. My question is, if I get thicker strings, can my dot handle this kind of music?
Can it be done? Yes.

Is it ideal? No.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

alhaq369
It is very impotent to success a business.
You can make a Dot play downtuned metal, but there's a long, long list of guitars that would be an awful lot more suitable.

The Dots are semi-hollows so they can viably play with more gain than fully hollow guitars without feeding back. With that said it will still be more feedback prone than most guitars.

The 24.75" scale is far from ideal for a whole lot of downtuning. The shorter scale means that you're going to want very heavy strings to tune down to B, even heavier than one usually would for B tuning. This is going to require you to recut the nut to get the strings to fit into the slots to minimize tuning problems. You may also have problems intonating a guitar that's using such a heavy gauge. The ABR-1 bridges on these guitars do not have a whole lot of intonation range and with such heavy strings, getting the guitar to intonate properly could be impossible without buying a new bridge. The third string may need to be substituted for a wound string rather than plain and this causes the intonation point of the string to move way upwards.

The pickups in a Dot are not exactly made for djent either.
Quote by Axelfox
Please understand how little we as a community care
^ Pretty much this^