Hello guys! I hope you guys can help me out with this "problem". I really dont know a lot about pedals, amps etc, mostly played acoustics, so I hope you will bear with me!

I've been playing guitar on/off for around 10 years. Today I got my new electric guitar, which I am very fond of. Its a Jackson Js32 Kelly.

I also purchased a pedal together with the guitar, because of the following reason:

- When I play electric guitar I connect my amp to my PC so that I can play along with the songs I hear on Youtube. A lot of these songs have a clean verse and a heavy distorted chorus (System of a down, Metallica etc). So I want to be able to quickly switch from clean to metal. That was what I thought the pedal would do. (and kinda does?)

However!

My amp has 4 settings: (its a Line 6 Spider) Clean, Crunchy, Metal, and Insane. When I play a clean verse with "clean" and pedal OFF it sounds great. When I enable the pedal, it makes a very horrible distortion sound. Its like it mixes the clean amp setting with my pedal effect. Isnt a pedal supposed to overwrite the other setting? When I use "Metal" setting on Amp and activate pedal, the distortion sounds much better!

Am I just plain stupid, did I miss something? Or is it just a crappy pedal? I hope you guys can help me. Basically the only thing I want to do is being able to switch between heavy distortion and clean without bowing down to the amp

Gear:
Jackson JS32t Kelly
Amp: Line 6 Spider IV 15
Pedal: Belcat The Eyes Dual Overdrive Distortion Pedal
Sorry friend, your issue is this:
Quote by AeeroH
Amp: Line 6 Spider IV 15