Hey, I'm just getting into guitar and I'm not too familiar with forums so bear with me!
So I've got a little line 6 bedroom amp, which sounds like crap but hey, so do I. Anyway I recently picked up a "digitech death metal distortion pedal" against my better judgment and came to find that it sounds even worse than my cheap amp. To be specific it sounds EXACTLY like my amp just a crappier version. I knew it wouldn't sound like a (insert expensive amp here) but I've never heard of a pedal sounding worse than the amp. The reason I'm posting/asking here is cause I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong. Like do you need a better amp to run pedals or did I just choose a bad one? Or is the only point to having a distortion pedal is that it gives you the ability to switch from clean to mean? The only way to learn is to ask. so any knowledge you have would be a help.
First of all, inexpensive solid state amps usually don't sound that great to start off with. Secondly, inexpensive solid state amps usually don't mix well with "dirt pedals": distortion, overdrive, and fuzz. Third, the Digitech Death Metal is one of Digitech's earlier high-gain distortion pedals, and really isn't one of their better ones.

Combined, those 3 factors are probably going to scare the music right out of your tone,

The purpose of "dirt pedals" is to add a bit of mean to your tone, as you say. But they come in all levels of aggression, and even the most aggressive ones (worth buying) can be dialed in to cover a lot of tonal territory. Learning how to use a pedal's controls- as well as those on your amp & guitar- are all part of the process of tonecrafting and instrument mastery. But it takes time.

...And having the right amp and pedals for the genres of music you like helps. What are you trying to play?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!