Page 1 of 2
I feel like we say this a lot and it's truly a meaningless phrase. I'd posit that it'd be harder to find a guitar that's so niche that it's not versatile. Can anyone find me a guitar that can only do one single genre?

Quote by EyeNon15
Thats too bad, I was under the impression I was arguing something profound

1 3 5 R
2 4 6
A pure classical, perhaps?

(Not that I believe that.)
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

alhaq369
It is very impotent to success a business.
dannyalcatraz

Yeah, dunno about that. How many Latin, jazz and classical players there are in the world compared to electricheads and steel string players? I've been wondering that for years.

I think that versatility might have more to do with looks than sound. Something with spikes and skull motifs isn't going to sit well in a wide range of genres.
Looks won't stop you from being able to play, though.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

alhaq369
OK if we aren't going to take looks into account, how about lap steels and pedal steels in extend tunings? Everything I've heard played on them sounds like one genre to me. But strictly speaking, I think they should be called zithers, not guitars.

It would be hard do shredding or classical on this:

That kind of thing interests me greatly. - Doing a lot with not very much.
Last edited by Tony Done at Nov 16, 2016,
Discounting aesthetics would be wrong since a lot of what we hear and feel in a guitar is dictated by what we see. Aesthetics won't physically stop you from playing a certain style, but psychologically if a guitar doesn't look appropriate for the sort of music you're playing on it then it may as well be physically impossible in the eyes of most people. It would be to me at least since there are several other guitars in my pile that would look a lot more suitable.
Quote by Axelfox