Dear fellow players,

I have been playing guitar on and off for the past 13 years, and always had a nice Ibanez RGR270DX (http://ibanez.wikia.com/wiki/RGR270DX) as my first-and-only guitar. While it has a couple of quirks - not a good tremolo system, for starters - it's still a fun guitar to play, and I feel I got more than its worth in terms of money (bought for 400 euro in 2001). It still has an okay sound with my Boss MT-2 pedal, and I use it mostly to play thrash and other types of hard rock and metal music.

Recently I've started picking it up more frequently than before. While I am definitely not a guitar shredder or a good player (I am mostly self-taught), I would like to get a new guitar which is an improvement over the last one. This one should hopefully last me for the rest of my life :-).

What I really liked about Ibanez, is the narrower neck, if compared to many other manufacturers. While I was in love with the Randy Rhoads guitars from Jackson from an aesthetic perspective, I've had the occasion to try it out in a shop and realized I'm not comfortable with such wide necks.

So, I would like:
  • to stay under 2000 euro of investment, if possible.
  • 6 strings (however, question: is having 7 strings an hindrance to play songs composed for EADGBE? if not, I am open to it)
  • to have something new, which sounds great also with a transistor amp
  • two humbuckers
  • good access to the highest frets
  • a passable tremolo system. I don't use it that often, but I find it a nice-to-have.

So I have identified a couple of options (other ideas are welcome):

either I get directly a Prestige guitar (for instance, the RG652AHM (https://goo.gl/4mOKX1),

or

I get something akin to a RG927WBBZ (which is a 7-strings guitar, though), which is cheaper but maybe enough for my use case (https://goo.gl/A6TJUl).