Hi Guys
I am new to Ultimate Guitar and came here looking for advice. I used to play guitar at beginner level many many moons ago with a friend who has since become a great guitar player. I stopped playing due to meeting a girl settling down having kids, the whole 9 yards sort of thing. Well i split with the love of my life and now live alone which makes me extremely happy. I bumped into the old friend i mentioned earlier and we was talking about when i played along with him all that time ago. Well after we parted i was thinking of those times and how much i actually enjoyed jamming along with him. I only knew perhaps 7 chords at the most but we used to belt tunes out with me strumming and him doing the lead, fantastic memories.
Now since i saw him i have had it in my head to start playing again or trying to play again. Got my heart set on an Epiphone special II which is based on the guitar that Slash uses. Here's the link http://www.pmtonline.co.uk/epiphone-slash-afd-les-paul-special-ii-performance-pack.
Before i asked for this advice i was reading a few threads and came out thinking that its not a great idea to buy starter packs. I am on a budget which is one of the reasons i chose the above pack, and te other reasons are that i never want to play a guitar like the acoustic one i played all those years ago, getting a clean note without fret buzz on that thing was to say the least very challenging, my fingers ached hours after finishing. and last of all i think it would be nice to have something new.

thanks for reading and any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Tim

P.S I am a big Jeff Lynne fan and i know he plays the Gibsons which are similar to the one in the link