Hey everyone, I'm mainly a guitar guy, but lately I've been wanting to experiment with basses, I know it's a very different instrument from my shorter scale buddies, but I just want explore a bit, just like when I started playing guitar...
So I'm looking for advice choosing a bass, it'll probably be an used one but keep in mind that I do not reside in the US so ebay and guitarcenter etc. are off the shelf, definitely.
I mainly have access (both economically and geographically) to used basses like SDGR's by Ibanez, Gio's (is there actually a difference? I know how low-end Ibanez Gio is guitar-quality wise but does this translates to basses as well?), but I also may be able to buy an LTD F51, a Rockbass Corvette by Warwick, a Squier (looks like an Affinity series Precision Bass), a Samick (a cheapo, not sure of the model tho), a Peavey Millenium, and that's about it!
I really am into a RHCP and Jamiroquai bass style, I know I might be trying to play way beyond of my league but anyways. I may use it for simple amateur recordings as well but I'm not very picky on that matter. I don't really want to imitate their sounds because I know it would take a great amp and probably active pickups and good preamps or so, I'm just trying to feel comfortable playing a bass so I can see if I like it! But I wouldn't mind if the bass itself sounds nice when played properly!
Just for now I'm gonna be playing through a Peavey bass amp a friend will lend me but I don't know which one exactly

Sorry for the lack of proper bass terminology, I'm really not familiar with basses
My gear:
-LTD EC401VF DMZ LD
-Ibanez RG8
Charvel Desolation DX-1 FR
Epiphone G400 PRO
-Yamaha C40M