Hello,

I've been playing fingerstyle guitar for six years. That said, I only ever had one guitar: a $70 Maestro that I got from Best Buy--and it's time for an upgrade. Since I finally saved up enough money to buy a decent guitar (price range: $300-$500), which one should I get for my style of playing? I never use picks, and I always throw in percussive sounds in my playing. I would also prefer a cutaway so it's easier to play the higher notes. As for the body size, nothing too big is fine with me, though nothing too small either. The nearest guitar store in my town is 45 minutes away so I at least want to get an idea of what I should be looking out for.

Thanks!
I'm a fingerpicker, and I can and do play almost anything, provided I have set it up myself, so I don't like to pigeonhole guitars as good for that style or not, but there are a few general things I would consider:

Some fingerpickers prefer a 1 3/4" nut to the more common 1 11/16".
Cedar tops often work very well for fingerpicking, where you don't need the headroom necessary for heavy-handed flatpicking.
A good set up will often work wonders for playability, so budget to have that done.
Quote by Tony Done
. . . . I'm a fingerpicker, and I can and do play almost anything, provided I have set it up myself, so I don't like to pigeonhole guitars as good for that style or not . . . . . . .

Exactly the same here ^ ^ ^ ^

But if it's any help my go-to steel string guitar is a Recording King ROS-16. It is a 000 parlour, 48mm wide neck, 12 fret-to-the-body. The ROS-16 has a chunky vintage V neck which I like but lots of people don't. But they also do the ROS-06 model which has a traditional C profile neck. And they fall right in your budget range.

http://www.recordingking.com/guitars/ros06

http://www.recordingking.com/guitars/ros16