View poll results: What should I get
New amplifier
7 88%
Some pedals
1 13%
New multi fx unit
0 0%
Voters: 8.
I sounded the horn of depair calling for aid from across the endless ocean.

Hello, I am a odd one.
I have been learning how to attempt to play guitar for 15 months now. And need advice because I cannot go try gear myself.

I have a new jackson king V that I bought second hand and I love it!! But... my gear still lacks amplification quality. I play on a fender mustang 1 and don't have any pedals or extra effects.

I am looking for the best way to get a better "metal" tone most importantly, and have a budget of 400$, up to 600$ if I sell stuff.

The thing is I have lived on a very small island my whole life, the "music shops" here have like 3 fenders guitars, 0 pedals and NO amps above 250$.
AND I can't get anything from second hand because there's NOTHING.

It's a metalhead's nightmare.

I have been asking myself for months should I...

-Get a new Amp
-Get a distortion pedal
-Get a multi fx unit/pre amp (like a boss GT100)

My new favorite "band" is Dethklok. I came to worship brendon small for his smooth yet brutal tone and amazing songwriting.

Other bands I love in order are

- Amon Amarth
- Insomnium
- Slipknot
- As I lay Dying
- Parkway Drive
- Silent Civilian
- Sentenced
- In Flames
- Trivium
- Five finger death pucnch
- DevilDriver
- System of a down (childhood favorite and got me away from rap actually(priceless))

I need your honest opinion on what would get me a great distortion and a good tone.
I can't tell you how precious your answers are to me, thanks a lot and lead a great life.
Last edited by DavidHox at Nov 26, 2016,
What is available to you locally and are you able to order things online? I mean in general the biggest noticable upgrade would be to get a better amp (and one more suited to metal) but that might be tough depending on what you can purchase in your area. Do you have a mainland or bigger city that might have more to offer?