Page 1 of 2
Hello,

I'm new here and total beginner. Bought a Squier HSS Strat Pack a couple weeks ago to get started. Came with a Fender Frontman 15G.

I love Santana's early tone so went to GC yesterday and asked if I should get a cheap multi-fx pedal or an i-Rig or a modeling amp.

The GC associate said, hands down the Line 6 Spider V 30. So I bought it based on her rec. Most of the effects are not consistent with my taste.

Is there a negative consensus re the Spider Amps?

Thanks and looking forward to hangin out here!
Its not the end of the world... But the Frontman was a better amp, especially for what you want. The Spider is widely considered one of the worst amps ever made. At least you only bought the 30w version
Quote by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.

www.SanctityStudios.com
You can always take it back. There's like a 90 days return policy on new items and 45 on used. I utilize their return policy often.
I personally was not impressed at all with the new Spider V. I had every hope of it being a big improvement over previous models (the much hated IV, in particular) but it was a huge letdown. I definitely don't think that it will be suited towards Santana tone.

I'd recommend taking it back.

A few questions:

Do you have a budget in mind for your rig?

Do you already own an iPad/tablet?

Do you have a decent pair of headphones?

We might be able to help you find something more in-line with your tastes based on your answers.
I'm just a kickin' and a gougin' in the mud and the blood and the beer.
For a beginner, it's probably adequate. The thing is, when you're beginning you need to focus less on what tone you want and more on your technique.