Page 1 of 2
I want to by my first electric guitar this summer. I am a bedroom player and I like metal/rock music. I did some research and the guitar that I found is Jackson JS32 series. I really liked the look of them too. The amp I found is Blackstar HT Series HT-5R. I am a total noob so do you guys recommend another combination? My budget is around 1200USD
Last edited by mumar1512 at Nov 29, 2016,
1200 us?

if I was just starting out I would not buy guitar with tremelo/floydrose. Stick with a fixed bridge or thru body guitar. It'll make your life much easier when putting new strings on.

Here's what I would buy, assuming you have pc and know a little about software
-Bias fx (under 100$)
-Focusrite Scarlett Solo (2nd Gen) USB Audio Interface (100$) comes with ProTools
-15' cable (25$)

then spend 900$+ on a guitar. I'd get whatever guitar speaks to you, something that makes you want to play it every day!!!
Gibson LP Standard T - Epiphone LP Standard (BCS wiring+pots, 57/57+ Gibson) - Fender FSR MIM Telecaster
Blackstar Series one 45 (v30's) - Jetcity JCA50h + 212cab (Eminence) - Orange Crush 35RT
You're just starting out and have a $1200 budget?! That's incredible lol

I'd recommend the blackstar or another small tube combo. 15 watts should be the maximum you'd need.
As for a guitar, a strat should do ya good!
Why would you even consider getting a JS Jackson when you have $1200 to spend?

What sort of dollars are we talking about? US? Canadian?
Quote by Axelfox
Please understand how little we as a community care
T00DEEPBLUE

Why would you want to spend it just because you have it if the one in question will suffice? "More" shouldn't be confused with "better", especially for an (electric) beginner.
mumar1512
Ya know, Sweetwater has a sale right now on the Blackstart HT Studio 20. $350. Hell, I bought my HT-1R for $330. That's a damn great deal. All tube amp, I know it can handle aggressive metal music. Same brand you were looking at initially.