Hi, I'm new to this UltimateGuitar. This is my first thread and my first post. I am writing this as one of the many stories of beginner guitarists. Perhaps this will give some insight into the dreaded question, "How long does it take to get good on the guitar?" At any rate, for those who want to skip this lengthy post, go right ahead and skip through it all the way to the bottom where I've left some questions.

I am 20 years old, and this is my journey in playing the guitar.

I officially started my guitar playing journey on the 5th November 2016. As a reference point, I turned 20 at the very start of September. A few weeks after my birthday, I decided that I wanted to learn the guitar. I was (and still am) a big fan of Michael Jackson and was always searching for who was the greatest entertainer in the world. I came across many forums that had debates as to who the greatest entertainer in the world, Elvis Presley or Michael J. Jackson. In order not to be biased, I started listening to Elvis Presley's records. I began to appreciate his music. This was the point at which I had an interest in playing the guitar.

The first time I picked up an old electric guitar of mine, I held it the wrong way (i.e, upside down). This was brought to my attention by my elder brother who laughed at me. I started researching as to how to go about learning the guitar. I got tons of great information on the net. There were two schools of thought. One claimed that a beginner should always start with an acoustic guitar so that he could build more finger strength and transfer it on to the electric guitar. The other school of thought (and this was the new school of thought) claimed that you should start with the instrument you preferred so that you you'd be more motivated to learn the instrument and play it. Plus, apparently it was physically easier to play on the electric as opposed to the acoustic.