I started playing the guitar a year ago, and i felt i was doing great. 3 months ago, i bought an electric guitar as my goal was to play blues and improvise. however when i started i got very confused, lost interest, and became demotivated. so if anyone could help me with my questions, that would be amazing.

-what are minors and majors?
-what are notes?
-what are root notes, 5th notes, octaves?

thank you so much
For starters, a note in general is a pitch played on an instrument. On the guitar, this means any open string that is plucked and any pitch coming from holding down your finger on a fret and plucking a string is a note. A chord would be just a grouping of a few or various notes or pitches.

To understand minor or major, roots, 5ths, and octaves I would recommend you look to learn about intervals as well as the C major scale.

I would recommend looking at https://www.musictheory.net
Under the lessons tab to learn more about the fundamentals of music.

Actually, if you have any more questions regarding the electric guitar or something confuses you, I'd be glad to help you out.
Last edited by SombraDLG at Dec 4, 2016,
Those are basic concepts in western music theory. I suggest you look up some beginner courses on music theory, like musictheory dot net, Ben Levins "music theory from the ground up", or Michael News "music theory fundamental" (this is a pretty new one for me, but I think it looks decent).

What you need to do first of all is to learn the names of the notes and find them on the fretboard. You can't really do anything before that.

I can give you a simplified explanation here though. Notes the different pitches you play. When you pluck the lowest open string, that's an E note. The first fret is a bit higher in pitch - it's an F. The fifth fret is an A, etc. We have 12 different notes in western music theory:

C - C#/Db - D - D#/Eb - E - F - F#/Gb - G - G#/Ab - A - A#/Bb - B

This is called the chromatic scale