OK so I currently have a VK 112 50w combo and I'm using a boss sd-1 in front and have managed to get a solid sound from it for now.
Odds are I will keep it for the meantime as I'm still a beginner really.
I play as often as possible and as the skills grow I'd like to eventually go ahead and upgrade the amp itself.

I play mostly modern metal but I am learning some classic rock stuff too as my kids seem to enjoy singing along and dancing haha. So things like CCR and such I play also.

If I were to look for a new amp I'd like something that could do a good classic rock and really nice clean sound while also being able to get that nice modern metal tone with an overdrive pedal on the lead channel.

I don't gig atm but I do jam a bit with friends.
I'd like the amp to be 50w or less and a single speaker combo.

What would your recommendations be?
I'm really partial to owning a mesa boogie amp! If you need any other info just lmk.
Thanks!
budget would help for sure. Mesa you are looking at about a grand at least for a used amp the does what you want. Marshall DSL 40c comes in around $700 new.
Marshall DSL40. Preferably the older 401 though.

Ticks all the boxes based on the vague description of what you want.
Quote by TheSennaj
And well yes, I'll enjoy the carpal tunnel and tendonitis, because trying to get one is clearly smarter than any word you have spoken thus far.
monwobobboT00DEEPBLUE Hmm. I would think the DSL40 would be kind of in the same boat as the VK compared to how they do metal tones- can do it but not the best in its tier. I would suggest to keep the VK for the lighter stuff (classic and hard rock) but the new amp be specifically a metal voicing.
6505+ combo then.
Quote by TheSennaj
And well yes, I'll enjoy the carpal tunnel and tendonitis, because trying to get one is clearly smarter than any word you have spoken thus far.
Quote by Will Lane