Post a comment if you want some additional background on the subject, but in a nutshell, I started learning guitar a couple months ago and didn't see my jersey finger as too much of a burden as I've gotten used to living with it over two years. Unfortunately, I've realized I could only fret SOME chords with it because while I could fret with my ring finger, I end up muting the string below it because I can't really bend my ring finger. Taking that into consideration, I'm uncertain about its' ability to do vibrato, trills, tapping, legato, etc.

P.S. Some of my inspirations are Estas Tonne, Polyphia, CHON, Plini, Tosin Abasi, Jason Becker, The Helix Nebula, Wretched, Randy Rhoads, early In Flames, Darkest Hour, Angel Vivaldi, and to an extent, Zack Wylde
Last edited by matthewramroop at Dec 11, 2016,
Some chords can be hard, but sure you can. Just figure out some fingerings that work with your condition. Django Reinhardt only had two fingers in his fretting hand and he was a goddamn beast and one of the best guitarists in history. You can still do all of the techniques you mentioned with the rest of your fingers., to be honest the ring finger seems like the least important finger in the fretting hand to me.
Quote by Jet Penguin
Theory: Not rules, just tools.

Quote by Hail
*note that by fan i mean that guy who wants his friends to know he knows this totally obscure hip band that only he knows about with 236 views on youtube. lookin' at Kev here
Never heard of a jersey finger, had to look it up. Sounds like it will certainly be a handicap and make some things more difficult, but you should be able to work around it. Might have to compensate by using other fingers more or find other ways to play things, but it's doable for sure.
Last edited by The4thHorsemen at Dec 12, 2016,