Hey guys. I'm a hobby guitar player and I like playing covers of my favorite bands, eg Ensiferum, COB, Cradle, Ozzy, Bolt Thrower, Mercyful Fate, etc. I was hoping I could get some advice on what gear I would need to record videos for youtube? as I don't know much regarding interfaces and recording technology. If you had any links or advice I could use to learn about it I'd appreciate any you could share with me.
Thread was moved to forum: Guitar Gear & Accessories
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Hellhound221 the cheapest way to go is get a small interface 1 or 2 channel, a pair of headphones, a DAW and an amp simulation software.

The next upgrade would be: SM57 to record a tube amp and a pair of studio monitors. Even reasonably priced monitors would work as for electric guitar you do not need the crazy low end of bigger speakers, so some mid-range monitors would do.

SM57 works great on guitar cabs. It also does a decent job for dialog, singing and acoustic guitar. A Small Diaphragm Condenser or SDC is better for dialog if you decide to talk in the videos. It is also way better than a 57 for acoustic guitar. A Large Diaphragm Condenser or LDC is ideal for singing and could work on acoustic guitar (but I generally prefer SDC).

If you grab an interface with 4 or 8 channels you would be spending more but you would save money in future as you have more channels to expand.

If you choose which one is within your budget and needs maybe I can suggest some gear.
Last edited by Gab_Azz at Dec 15, 2016,
Quote by Hellhound221