Hmm... how to put this? I would say it's been a good 8 years since I had a private music teacher and a good 3-4 since I seriously started trying to learn how to play again. Since I've been in to college I've haven't really picked up the guitar much, and it has just gathered dust at my parents house. It wasn't until recently I've started listening to music and feeling like I should try and give learning the guitar another go, not with dreams of joining a band or being a rock star like did when I first started playing at 14, but really more of some kind of therapeutic hobby for my depression/anxiety.

I was mostly wanting to ask about the whole concept of learning to play by ear rather than staring at sheets of music and trying to copy all the chords. I have a very basic understanding of music theory, and sort of understand that its a lot music can be more about the changes in tone and timing rather than playing a specific chord or note (I'm not a music expert of course feel free to explain it to me if I have it wrong).

I think this was the main issue I had with learning to play when I first picked up the guitar. My original music teacher just taught me how to play already pre-written songs, chords and all, rather than just starting at the basics and working up from there.

So, this is the main thing I'm wanting to do now. Get back to basics and work up from there. I already understand how scales, chords and power chords all work, so I don't need to go that basic. My trouble lies in actually being able to play the damn thing, and I have so much trouble when it comes to basically switching between notes and getting the timing right.