Guys,
Need a bit of direction here from advanced guitarists.
I am self taught and learning for 1 year or so.

The stuff I wish to do is to learn song melody improvisation (I think that's a right word).
e.g. this video where he takes just a main theme line of the song and develops into a solo. He is not playing the entire song tab.

This is what I would like to learn. What are the the stepping stones to this?

My guess is: (I have learnt regular chords & strumming so far and learning lead licks and scales at the moment)
1. Learn scales and melodic/intervalic/arpegio sequencing of scales major & minor (and yeh, yeh .. pentatonic/blues scales too)
2. Learn lead licks from these scales with legato techniques
3. Learn to connect scale positions together (caged or whatever) and around the root note
4. Take a song line, find the scale, use things learnt above to see what fits well

Does that sound sensible or is there something that I am overlooking
Is the sequence right?

Do you know if there is any online course out there? that focuses on this.
I see lots of soloing courses for blues and rock that is essentially scale improvisations. Will those help?

Thanks for the guidance you may offer.
Can't afford guitar tuition.

Thanks
Sam
Main thing that will help you is really being familiar with chord tones (i.e. the 1, (b)3, (b)5, (b)7) of the main chord types (maj, maj7, min, min7, dom7, m7b5).

You need to nail these chord shapes. Nail which interval mentioned above is present where in each shape. Do you know interval shapes? That will massively help you.

If you can make a backing track, try something simple like E, Amaj7, B7 for a chord progression, and initially just play the (b)3 or (b)7 for each chord as it goes by. In this case ideally you want to visualise all 3 chords in the same area of the neck if you can ... the reason is that it is much more viusally obvious where the nearest chord tones are as the chords change.