Hi,

I'm trying to learn the solos to the great song "Nah Neh Nah" by Vaya Con Dios (weird name but great song!).

A tab and demo of it is here:

http://www.guitartabmaker.com/2012/12/vaya-con-dios-nah-neh-nah-guitar-lesson.html

The original of it is here:

I struggle to learn tabs by wrote though, I'd rather understand the key structure. I'm a decent guitarist but very inexperienced with jazz scales.

Can any kind person help pick out what scale(s) this tune uses?

Chas.
I have a lot on my plate until probably next week (there are quite a few other people who frequent this forum), but it's in F# minor, and key is more useful than scales when it comes to learning key structure

Scales are often related to melody
Key is more related to harmony

(surprised that the tab isn't on UG. I'll look at it eventually.)
Yeah, it's in F# minor, but you've also got the major 7th used a fair amount starting with the F (probably we have to call it E#) in the first phrase. That could suggest harmonic minor, which is reinforced by the C#7 chord, the major 3rd of which is the same note.
Apart from that also added are the flat 5th, flat 2nd & major 3rd, plus a lot of chromaticism as you'd expect from something jazzy, a couple of diminished licks ... so overall it's not really too helpful to try and say it uses any particular scales. But maybe worth thinking of it as F# harmonic minor being used for some phrases, especially as the minor 7th, E, is almost nowhere to be found.

btw the tab in the link you gave is a little off in places and I'd play some parts in a different position, but maybe that doesn't matter if you're not bothered about learning it note for note.
Hi,

Appreciated thank you. I guess my wider question is how to approach something "Jazzy". I've stuck rigidly to the blues scale all my life so that chromaticism throws me - it's not my regular comfortable positions! Time to break out. SO - I'll treat it as harmonic minor and press on.
Quote by NeoMvsEu