Hey guys. I have no professional training but when I was 15 and my band needed a singer, I decided, hey, why not? I have been singing in rock / punk rock / pop rock groups since then, 10 years ago. When it's my own stuff I don't ever have a problem.

Problem is, we started a new group recently and to start off we're doing a load of covers. Message in a Bottle, Lithium, My Sharona. Some other ones but these are the ones that really kill me. We've had a couple of rehearsals where I've left with my voice pretty shot. After the first one the voice was kinda shaky for a few days. I decided we should tune down half a step and transpose down where possible. I felt a lot more comfortable after doing this. Unfortunately, I worked up a false sense of security with the new pitches, and got a bit careless. So I left the second reheasal with the voice shot again. Message in a Bottle there's just one line that's difficult, and I just sing something different that's lower.. I think I really did the damage on Lithium and My Sharona.

So problem 1 - after the second time, my voice didn't really start recovering until over a week later. It wasn't crazy, like, I can't talk, but it was definitely affected. I'm an ESL teacher so a lot of my job is talking. And I was also a bit careless and was singing perhaps when I shouldn't have been. Finally, about 9 days after the rehearsalr, I noticed a pretty decent improvement. There was still about a week and a half until the concert until that point, so I felt golden.

Then I got the flu. And my voice got worse than it's been this whole time. The first day I was barely able to get anything out. Second day there was improvement, and we had rehearsal. I sang some of the lower parts or took things an octave lower, a couple of the songs I sang parts that were kinda high, I was kinda like "hey it's not as bad as I thought". And it wasn't. So I got my hopes up again.