The wife was away in vegas to visit a grieving friend a couple weekends ago - and what did I do - I decided to build a guitar body for an orphan Kay neck that I really like (Kay KE-17 - cheap crappy guitar - but the neck feels AWESOME).

I saw someone necroposted a thread here on making a guitar using nothing but hand-tools - this proves it is indeed doable - BUT - it is harder than usual. The only reason I succeeded is because I have been building guitar bodies since I was 14 years old, and bodies are not hard to make (IMHO). Took me 2-3 hours...

1.) At lowes I bought a 36"x13" plank of multi-strip laminate pine board, I'm not a tonewood guy. I like pine, I like the weight, I like how it feels, and I've built guitars using it before. The idea was to cut the board in half, and have one part be the back, and the other be the front, and use the seam as my centerline, and use a SAW to make my neck slot.

2.) I bought 2 new hand tools, a $8 coping saw, and a $15 Irwin Dovetail/Pull Saw. That's ALL I needed for the body outline and neck slot. So about $36 into this project already.

3.) I needed to decide what to build body-wise. I'd been lusting after doing a Kay Vanguard style body for awhile, but it's so close to a Fender JAzzmaster I might as well build a Jazzmaster style guitar around it - I wanted something kitschy, because that's MY style, when I show up to play metal/grunge/whatever I like being the classic rocker looking dude with some kitchy bright colored rounded surfy something-or-other. But then I thought..."well, I like the B-52's and Nirvana - Ricky Wilson and Kurt Cobain both used basically the same variant of Mosrite for some songs (Mark V/Gospel) - why not do that?" - so I opened up google image search, looked up Mosrite Mark V, and then took to my collection of 30ish electric guitars to find ones with similar body lines to what a Mosrite Mark V had to mock up the body shape on the wood using one of those lumber-yard pencils.