Hello everyone. I have problem with playing guitar on strap while standing.
So, when I started playing guitar years ago, my teacher (who has been more of a classical/jazz musician) tought me to play in this classical stance - you know, left foot resting on a stool, guitar on left tight, pointed upwards etc.
I've been playing like that for years because at first I was taught to do so and over time I stuck to it and it felt comfortable. But recently I thought to try out playing with guitar straps and problems emerged immediately. Everywhere I look on how to make it optimal, sources always say I should make it as close to playing while sitting as possible. But I can't! It just feels so awkward, frets and whole neck is under different angle and in different distance than I'm used to and gitar slides down all the time so I have to focus on keeping it in place which wouldn't happen while sitting. I got my neck screw changed to one that works like strap button to make it easier and yes, it helps a little bit but it's still very hard to play. Those two feel like completely different worlds and as if I had to re-learn guitar.
So, here's my question: is there any way to deal with it other than just get used to it? How do the pros do it?
iSailor Hi,