I've been playing the guitar for about 15 years and have bought and sold many guitars in that time, probably about 40-50 or so. I swore I would never do this, but yesterday for the first time in my life I bought a brand new guitar. Unlike the hoards of used axes that have made their way through my frugal fingers, I plan on keeping and playing this for many, many years.

Behold! The ESP E-II Horizon in Tiger Eye Sunburst!

It is an absolute dream come true for me. Like I said I've never owned a new guitar, but my first used one was an LTD Viper and I've been an unabashed ESP/LTD fanboy ever since, forever pining after the "real" ESP guitars actually made in Japan. Granted this isn't an Original Series, but it's as close as I can get for now.

I quickly set it up like I always do: minimal neck relief with ~1.4mm action at the 15th fret. Having played various models from LTD's 1000 series for the last 7 years or so, I had gotten so used to the sound your pick attack makes when there's a bit of fret buzz, as there was almost no way to avoid it with the low action I like. But suddenly everything sounded crystal clear through the amp, all my usual licks sounded more musical, more articulate, more pristine! At first I thought it was the pickups; it's been a few years since I had a guitar with EMGs, and my ears only really remember the 81/85 set. I had never tried the newer 57/66 combo, but then I started playing unplugged and as soon as I did I realized it had nothing to do with the pickups, it's that there was NO fretbuzz anywhere. My ears had become so accustomed to the "smack" sound that occurs when the fret work isn't quite perfect and your action is low. I'm sure many of you know the sound, especially in the 10-20ish fret area - it's not fret buzz proper, though it can morph into that with heavier picking on the wound strings, but a slight "wap" at the initial attack of a note on the unwound strings.