Hello everyone.

To make a long story short, I have been playing bass faithfully for 13 years. I've played in everything from various rock bands to traveling university jazz bands. I have never, ever used a pick. Recently, I have been trying to learn some electric guitar for fun and because I have quite a bit of guitar equipment for others to record with on projects I'm involved in. My biggest problem is how to hold a pick and how to pick one string at a time without hitting everything else. I know there is no "right" or "wrong" way to pick an electric guitar. However, I was wondering if anyone knows of any great videos or articles on how to properly hold a pick, hand positioning, alternative picking and only hitting one string at a time (muting or anchoring videos work as well)? My favorite types of music would range from Slash and Myles' material to Alter Bridge/Tremonti to Alice in Chains. Certain picking techniques are better for certain styles, so hopefully these bands give a little bit of an idea for you of what I'm wanting to do, but honestly, any help would be great. I'm currently learning chords in my guitar lessons, but still lack on the picking and clarity. Thanks!
The way to hold a guitar pick is by resting the pick on the index finger and balance without holding it. The pick tip should roughly point in the same direction as the index finger. Then you should hold the pick with the thumb. Try to find the right balance between too loose and too tight as you play.

The motion should be not from the elbow. The elbow should only move as you change strings. The picking movement should come by rotation of the wrist/forearm. I remember reading from a book that the movement of picking is 'like turning a key'. So the elbow should be relaxed. There is no quick way to learn this, and after 13 years of playing I guess you are proficient at playing bass so it is a bit frustrating not being able to do something as basic as picking.