Hey guys, Well to put it quite simply, I sold my guitar around 2 years ago and want to get back into it. I'm a broke college student but managed to save some extra money for 8 months or so for a $600 budget for a guitar and amp. I live in dorms so I have to play with headphones in which I don't have an issue with. My last guitar was a pacifica which was a fine guitar, but I always liked the Les Paul's. I have been looking at the epiphone Les Paul's, but I don't have any experience with them. I also need to include an amp in that budget. I don't mind buying used gear, I'd actually prefer to. Any opinions on the epiphone LP's and an amp to fit the budget? Thanks!
What do you play? There's alot of headphone friendly low cost amp heads available for around $100 , add $50 or so for a good pair of headphones and that leaves $450 for a really nice used guitar. Plus iit will save you some space in the dorm.
Dean Icon PZ
Line 6 Variax 700
Dean V-Wing
Dean ML 79 SilverBurst
MXR M 108
H2O Chorus/Echo
Valve Junior (V3 Head/Cab and Combo)
VHT Special 6
Phonic 620 Power Pod PA
Wampler Super Plextortion
Line 6 Pod HD
scott58
I play a lot of things really, as corny as it sounds I like to recreate songs that I like, popular songs on the radio, just screw around and have fun. I like 70's rock, CCR, etc. I actually already have a pair of good headphones, audio technica m50's, have had them for a while so thankfully I can exclude that from the budget.
Your options improve a fair bit. Besides amps you have several choices in modelers from zoom, line 6 and others that sound pretty good with headphones. Mix and match your pricing then check demo's on YouTube.
Dean Icon PZ
Line 6 Variax 700
Dean V-Wing
Dean ML 79 SilverBurst
MXR M 108
H2O Chorus/Echo
Valve Junior (V3 Head/Cab and Combo)
VHT Special 6
Phonic 620 Power Pod PA
Wampler Super Plextortion
Line 6 Pod HD