I got my hands on an Epiphone 1958 Korina Explorer, and sometime in the kinda near future, I'm looking to swap out the stock pick-ups (Alnico Classic Humbuckers) for some with a meatier sound. I have no knowledge about good/bad pick-ups, so can you recommend me some?
They need to be passive, not more that 200 squid, and good for metal/rock (metallica, ac/dc, etc.).
Will Lane At home I have a Marshall MG15FX, at school (I go to boarding school) I mostly play through a Line6 Spider IV. I know they're not great, but I getting a new amp is not in my budget.
Grawgos Basically, a meatier, fatter, fuller sound that suits the genres I lay better. My current pick-ups have a kind of vintage sound, not that great for metal.
Grawgos That helps, but here I have the same problems. I have zero knowledge about good amps. Also, most good amps are too expensive for me. saving up could take years.
I wouldn't spend a dime on anything else until I'd replaced those awful amps. Not saying that to insult you -- it's a fact of life I learned all too well years ago, having spent a boatload on pedals, guitars, etc. always chasing after a better tone; all while the real culprit was sitting right in front of me; a crappy Marshall MG. Pickups will not improve the sound you're getting or even hardly make a difference.

At the very least -- sell one of the amps and get a Peavey Vypyr 30. For metal and hard rock it is light years better than any MG or Spider. You should be able to find one for less than or equal to what you're willing to pay for pickups.
+1 to "get a new amp." bnjmnhrbst Sorry friend, it is just a misuse of your money to put it towards pickups, save for a better amp and you will end up with a much more worthwhile, professional, inspiring piece of kit. You may even find your guitar's original pups sound just fine.

Quote by KailM