I have been playing on and off for 25 years. I love the instrument want to grow with it but, I don't have the motivation to pick it up and practice / play. I can pick up the guitar still and rattle of songs and the like with no problem but, I see it sitting there and I say "I'll get to it later". What have y'all done to get past not wanting to practice / play? How have you made the instrument "fun" again and got you back to picking up the instrument every day? Trying to make 2017 the year I get back to it and start to grow again as a player. Thanks for reading and thank you in advance for the advice and motivation.
I think working towards certain goals are very motivating. Some goals could be learning certain songs, techniques etc. What would you describe as the strongest and weakest aspects of your playing?
Gear:
2011 Fender American Standard Stratocaster
2012 Tanglewood TW170

Boss Katana 100w 1x112
Line 6 HD500
wyldelife
thought provoking question:

strongest: learning songs. Knowing I can play it exactly as it is played on the cd regardless of style.
weakest: frustration with speed. Though I do have some speed not as much as I would like. Sounding "muddy" with no clarity on my notes some times (slow or "fast").
I don't know about you, but when I first started out my issue was that I was playing the wrong kind of music. I played acoustic songs - country, reggae, etc. I liked the songs well enough, but I was never into them, and so I also put off practicing. And then when I finally got my first electric guitar and heard some Avenged Sevenfold (my first experience with hard rock as a kid) I actually really loved the music and wanted to learn it. Thank god my music taste has changed since then. Anyway, that got me motivated; it wasn't that I didn't like playing, as I'm sure is not the case with you, it was just that I hadn't found the music I was really into yet.