So i have been playing guitar for 8 years or so and in the past couple of years I have been struggling to play the guitar for as long as I used to, due having bad pain across my fretting hand and in my wrist, as well as stiffness.

I have put it down to not warming up properly before i play guitar and then generally playing until my hand hurt :/ (and long practices after not playing regularly)
I had a couple of months of from playing when I had my exams about a year and a half ago and when I went back to playing my hand felt a lot better but of course I just stuck to my way of playing and soon my hand was back to the way it was!
Also, I don't have a teacher and I haven't been very disciplined with my playing!

My plan was to have a week or two off from playing until my hand felt better and then slowly get back into playing and trying to build my sessions up,
I was just wondering if anyone has any suggestions for exercises to do to warm up, stretch my hand or maybe how I should get back into playing?

I am nearly (!) 18 so I want to sort this out now before I do too much damage and have to give up guitar and I would like to be playing my guitar regularly and for many years to come!

Thanks in advance
I'd say just keep playing everyday- mainly to get your hands used to guitar again. It doesn't have to be hardcore practice sessions, just pick up the guitar and play till your attention span runs out.

It also might just be bad thumb placement; can't say till we've seen your guitar playing.

If it's real bad pain, there are plenty of posts that cover bad guitar habits and strain. Fix those bad habits now!
"ba doo doo ba doo doo ba doo daa"
- earth,wind, and fire