Hey guys, I'm a newbie starting out playing the guitar and wanted to get some advice on the best and easiest one to start with. I used to have guitar lessons back in my school days but tbh they weren't much help. I found the teacher's guitar quite tough getting the hang on and it didn't really suit me. The strings just felt stiff and it wasn't much good. Can strings have different tightness? Anyway, I think I want to start with an acoustic guitar and then move onto electric once I get more comfortable. I'm quite short on money at the moment and not sure how long my determination is going to last so I don't think I'm going to buy one just yet. Been looking at the renting option. Browsing through google found some on a site called Fat Lama that I could rent off other musicians. Of the ones listed can anyone give me some tips on what the best one would be for beginners like me?

Any feedback would be much appreciated!

Thanks a lot,

Dom
Don't rule out a used Variax. You'll be able to play both acoustic and electric along with 12 string versions of both. If you can't afford an amp right away it works fine through your PC.
Dean Icon PZ
Line 6 Variax 700
Dean V-Wing
Dean ML 79 SilverBurst
MXR M 108
H2O Chorus/Echo
Valve Junior (V3 Head/Cab and Combo)
VHT Special 6
Phonic 620 Power Pod PA
Wampler Super Plextortion
Line 6 Pod HD
Quote by domrichh4
(a) The strings just felt stiff and it wasn't much good. Can strings have different tightness? (b) Anyway, I think I want to start with an acoustic guitar and then move onto electric once I get more comfortable.

(a) Yes absolutely.

(b) If you're worried about tight strings, especially if you think you're going to move to it eventually anyway, I'd seriously consider starting on electric. While you can use as thick strings on electric as acoustic (and some players do), mostly you use much thinner strings on electric which are a lot less stiff.