This is my first post on the forums i believe. Ive been using this site for about 4 years getting tabs and stuff. But i figured its about time for me to post.

But my first guitar which ive had for 4 years is starting to feel a bit uncomfortable for me to play. Ive tried adjusting the saddle on my guitar (Epiphone Les Paul Junior) but it just seems like i cant get the action high enough. The strings are just so high off the fretboard. When i lower the saddle i get the strings too close to the humbuckers and its just wayyy to muddy at that point. I've found a happy medium just for practicing. But i want to get the action higher.

Am i going to have to cut deeper notches in the nut? Im not sure ive never encountered this problem personally. On my acoustic it was very easy to lower the action all i had to do was file the bridge a wee bit. But i feel like if i mess up on my nut it will be unplayable.

I dont play blues at all. I prefer classic rock 70s 80s 90s and country so idk if that helps any. I dont play metal often.

I think i attached an image for reference. if not here is a link.

https://gyazo.com/64e58062599e44450419ca856668ff88
Last edited by ogxtricks at Jan 6, 2017,
The strings are just so high off the fretboard. When i lower the bridge i get the strings too close to the humbuckers and its just wayyy to muddy at that point. I've found a happy medium just for practicing. But i want to get the action lower.

Why not lower the height of the pickups?

Is there anything physically preventing you from lowering the bridge height down to where it needs to go? I ask because if you've lowered the bridge height to the very bottom of its travel and the action is still really high, then the solution could be shimming the neck.

How much neck relief is there? If there's too much relief, then that can be the cause of excessively high action.
Am i going to have to cut deeper notches in the nut?