Page 1 of 2
Hey. I'm looking for advice on buying a head and half stack cabinet. I play death metal; Cannibal Corpse, Carcass, Decapitated, and Arch Enemy are some bands I cover and listen to. I know a lot of bands I listen to use Marshall heads and cabinets so I'm leaning towards buying Marshall equipment. I'm new to using more 'stage' level equipment so I need to be pointed in a good direction. My bassist did a lot of research and recommended these for my price range (which is about $700-800).

Marshall MG100HCFX MG Series 100-Watt Guitar Amp Head $359.00 and Randall RG412 RG Series Cabinet 200 Watt 4x12 Speaker Cabinet $349.00

Another question, would it be better to buy the Marshall MG100 head and this Marshall Cabinet together?
Marshall MG412ACF MG 120-Watt 4-12-Inch Angled Guitar Extension Cabinet $259.00

Any suggestions and advice appreciated, Thanks!!
Grawgos

Thanks guys, my budget is $700-800, maybe $900. Why are the MG100 bad quality? I'm also getting a Maxon over drive extreme pedal, I think that would improve the overall sound? I'm willing to buy used. Only thing is, my brother and me are trying to buy a pair of heads and half stack cabinet, hes lead guitarist. It would be harder to find two of each and also I live in Montana, not much death metal around here.. Even Floyd rose guitars are slightly uncommon, just a bunch of fenders and fixed bridges
Last edited by Redwolf131987 at Jan 11, 2017,
Will Lane

$700 to $800 is my budget. I'm using a behringer amp, I think at least this Marshall head and Randall amp would be an upgrade from that? It seems the Randall cabinet is better than the Marshall, should I get both Randall head and half stack?
LOl Marshall MG is the worst Marshall the only thing its better than, is a squire amp. but that can also be debatable.