Hey!! So basically I have a Crafter acoustic guitar which I really like, but the action is really high for what I like to play. I'd really like to set it up to play as nicely as possible. I was thinking of putting size 9 strings on it, and also lowering the action. I've got two questions concerning this; will size 9 strings sound alright on my acoustic, and also, how can I get my acoustic action as low as possible.

Thanks!
I dont think its possible without getting any sort of fret buzz. Im not an expert, but, if I was in your situation, I'd just take it to your nearest guitar shop and let them check it out.
Quote by BluesRockerEden
Hey!! So basically I have a Crafter acoustic guitar which I really like, but the action is really high for what I like to play. I'd really like to set it up to play as nicely as possible. I was thinking of putting size 9 strings on it, and also lowering the action. I've got two questions concerning this; will size 9 strings sound alright on my acoustic, and also, how can I get my acoustic action as low as possible.

Thanks!

Crafter guitars - which are generally very good instruments - usually come set up for acoustic use. It may be possible to lower the action a little more by sanding down the base of the saddle. You can certainly fit 9 gauge strings if you want - lots of people will probably heap scorn on the notion but if you want your guitar to play more like an electric it's a valid option (IIRC the UK string maker Rotosound have an acoustic 9 gauge set). You may need to slacken off the truss rod if you drop to 9's.

Lots of info about DIY set up here: http://www.frets.com/FretsPages/pagelist.html