I am new to recording hence the title, but i have a bunch of questions that i don't want to keep track of on multiple different things so i guess i'll just smash them all together.

1.What kind of microphone do you recommend for recording both guitar and bass amps (less than 50$) the bass amp is an acoustic b100 and the guitar amp a line 6 combo of some sorts (i know i'm sorry, it's a line 6 but for my budget it's all i could find unless you can point me out to something better)

2.What are audio interfaces and why do i need them

3.What software should i use to mix (got to be free, I am on a tight budget)

4.With that software could i make it to where i can have one track for the right ear and another for the left while also being able to have a single track go across both. (idk the technical words for it)

Thanks for taking the time to read my questions and hopefully have some input.
can't think of a signature yet.
1) I'm not going to lie, $50 isn't much to work with. An interface + microphone can run from anywheres between $100 and $5000, depending on what you need. I've done a bit of research and think that the best bet here is the PreSonus AudioBox USB 2x2:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/presonus-audiobox-usb-2x2-audio-recording-interface-limited-edition

This comes with Studio One Artist, which is a fantastic DAW. I've used SO and it's quite nice.

I've read about this mic being used as a guitar amp mic:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/cad-tsm411-supercardioid-dynamic-microphone

And most reviews agree with my local rumblings and experiences on stage with newer guys. Not the be-all end-all but usable. Alternatively, you could scour about your local pawn shops and used stores for an SM-57.

From there get a set of decent headphones and go to town.