Sorry for taking your time guys,
I'm trying to form a homestudio and i want to use some rackmount units, not anything like poweramp, preamp etc but just some effects, noisegate, equalizer etc. so, i'm hoping to record my guitar my directly plugging into a audio interface. But in that case, how can i use these rackmount units?
Sorry if it's like the dumbest question on earth, but i'm really new to this kind of stuff.
thanks in advace
Some recording programs have latency compensation for external effects, so in essence if you have more than two outputs on your interface you can take out pre fx feed and bring back on another input. You can use them for tonal shaping of individual instruments either on input or solo instrument or mix, bus out and record back in with effects applied.
If you have mixer you can get more creative and bus out multitrack outputs of your session and mix on the fly.
Most DAW software has excellent native EQ, compression, noise gate, reverb, and delay plugins available that are a lot cleaner and more versatile than outboard effects. I would try those first. If you really want to use a favorite outboard effect I usually use a small mixer and run through them B4 the interface input. This way all your analog signal gets processed B4 the AD converter for best results.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY
Thank you guys so much. Excuse me but, if i can directly connect rack units to my interface, what is the purpose of a mixer?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mixing_console

and more seriously - if you wand all your effects to be permanently connected to the AI and not to get lost in the wiring the mixer is a good idea.