Alright, so I've been playing the guitar for about 10 years now, I've previously owned, bought and sold a ton of gear but I've never actually had a real amp. At home, I play through VST plugins so I've no need for a practice amp, what I'm looking for is something to gig with - something that's loud enough and that will give me the tone I want live - I won't be using it for recording.

My situation is kind of specific on account of the fact that I never use the drive channel on an amplifier. I have a little distortion pedal by MXR called the '78 Badass distortion and it gives me exactly the kind of sound I want. I've used numerous amps, tube, solid state and DSP and it's never let me down no matter what I plug it in.

What's more, I almost never turn the damn thing off; if I need a cleaner tone I just turn down my volume pot and play with a lighter touch, that's just how I like to do it. The point is that no matter what amp I get, I will not be using its drive channel - only the clean channel with the distortion pedal turned on.

My budget is around $300 to $400 as I'm kinda broke these days, so I'm wondering if I can get a good amp in this range. Should I go for tube, solid state, DSP? Common sense tells me to go with solid state as it will give me the least amount of coloration in the sound, but I've used so many amps over the years I've lost track of which sounds the best. Furthermore, as I said, they all sounded pretty good, and I'm glad to say that I've had quite a few compliments for my distorted tone for which my little $100 stompbox is solely responsible

Does anyone here have any experience with playing distortion pedals through amps and can impart some general wisdom as to where I can start? Cause I'm kinda lost, to be honest. Ideally, I'd like to get a combo, 2x12 solid state with at least 75W that's not too heavy so I can lug it around, but of course sound goes before convenience. So, suggestions?