Hello, i need some help choosing a guitar. I have got a Japanese Fender Strat, i really like my guitar, but i want to have another kind of tone and guitar feeling, like a Les Paul.

The thing is, my budget is around 500e and i don't really think that i would really pay 2000e for a Gibson Les Paul.

So, i'm looking for alternatives. I'm thinking about Epiphone Les Paul standard, or Epiphone Les Paul standard pro, or Epiphone Les Paul custom...but i can't decide.

I do really need an advice.

Thanks
Among my favorite LPclones are Electra's Omegas and Omega Primes. New, they're probably outside your price range, but you might be able to find a used one.

http://www.electraguitar.com/pages/electra-omega
http://www.electraguitar.com/pages/electra-omega-prime

I also think Hagstrom offers good alternatives:

http://www.hagstromguitars.com/electric-guitars.html
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Ltd EC 400 series or above
Ibanez Rg 321mh
Squier Classic Vibe 1970s Precision Bass
Guitar Rig 5
Presonus Audiobox
Behringer Truth B2030A
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

All the Epiphones you've mentioned are largely the same outside of the obvious cosmetic differences. Though the Standard Pro comes with Probucker pickups which are an improvement over the old Alnico Classics Epiphone have used for years now.

Does it absolutely have to be a Les Paul? There are lots of options for singlecut guitars out there that aren't Les Pauls but are cosmetically similar. Guitars like the PRS SE Singlecuts, Electra Omega, LTD Eclipses for example.

What are your preferences in regards to Les Pauls?
Roses are red
Violets are blue
Omae wa mou
Shindeiru

Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Besides mentioned ones in your price range you can also check
ESP LTD EC-256 (UG score 8.8)