Page 1 of 2
Hi guys, so I've been playing guitar for about 8 years, I've been using an Epiphone Les Paul standard for about 4/5 years and a cheap fender strat knock off before that. I've been thinking about investing in a new guitar for a while now and wanted to get something fairly cheap as I'm still a student and money is tight (max £400 - $600).

I've been eyeing up an Ibanez rg350dxz for a while as I'm starting to get into fast playing guitar (Avenged sevenfold and Eric Johnson, etc) and I find my les paul limits my playing in that regard - due to the thick neck, and the fact that the body meets the neck on the 17th fret, as opposed to 19 or 21st fret, etc. I love the sound and tone of a Les Paul but I find it not very forgiving when trying to play certain things.
I also love the idea of the tremolo and all the great sounds you can make from that. The slim neck of an ibanez and the thin strings and closeness to the fret board also makes me inclined to try this model.

SO, do you think it's worth the investment in an ibanez guitar? Also anybody can vouch for this model(rg350dxz)? Any other guitars that would be good for this?
Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated
You don't need to buy a Ibanez to attain low action and light strings. You can set up your Les Paul just the same way if you want to improve its playability.

I understand if you want a new guitar for better fret access; typical Les Pauls are never great in that regard, though many metal players do get used to it, be it Matt Heafy, Zakk Wylde etc. The neck on an Epiphone Les Paul is actually very average in thickness. The notion that the necks are thick stems from younger players who are so used to their Ibanez Wizard necks that anything that's remotely different feels totally foreign to them.

Does it have to be an Ibanez guitar? Does it also have to be brand new or can it be used? I also assume you understand the shortcomings of owning a Floyd?