Page 1 of 2
Hi, I'm a beginner and my guitar (Epiphone dr-100 sunburst) doesn't sound as bright as before, so I want to know which strings I should buy. Thanks for reading and helping.
SIMGH:

Lots of different string lovers around here. I prefer Elixirs....they last a long, long time. I've had the Elixirs on my guitar for 15 months so far, and I don't know if they were new when I got it (probably not...was a display model). With the brightness gone, my Cargo sounds a lot like a Martin.

My instructor prefers el cheapo D'addario Bronze wounds (I think it was) which run about $5.99. They sound great, but don't last long (no protective coating).
Quote by Tony Done
String choice is a personal thing. I use John Pearse phosphor bronze, and I think that you would want them in light (12-53) gauge.

OP, please ignore Tony Done. He's a savage from the under Hemisphere. Their strings are cobbled together from Dingo gut and yarn.
TobusRex
(sniff) I suppose you would recommend Elixirs or something equally limp-wristed in 10-46.

I had to buy D'Addario a couple of days a ago. The coloured string balls look garish to me, though I have to admit that the packaging is better than JP.
Last edited by Tony Done at Jan 26, 2017,
Quote by SIMGH
Hi, I'm a beginner and my guitar (Epiphone dr-100 sunburst) doesn't sound as bright as before, so I want to know which strings I should buy. Thanks for reading and helping.
That's an inherent issue with all laminate guitars. New string add the "chime" people expect, but once the strings break in, this type of guitar loses quite a bit of resonance.

To forestall that, you'd make the best of the situation by using some type of coated string.

"Phosphor bronze", are "warm sounding", are are often used to tame overly bright guitars. Granted "overly bright", is quite subjective. I have a laminate Ibanez which suffers from just what you're describing. My "solution", is to use a "brass alloy", packaged as "80/20" (it's actually "bell bronze".).