Hey, I've only owned one amp before, and, well, its not very good in terms of sound and I have very little knowledge about amps.
I currently have a Kustom head and cabinet that i got four years ago when I first started playing electric, it sounds decent on clean but switching to channel sounds awful. And that's a big deal because I'm a metal head. From talking to some friends, they say i just need to replace the head. the cabinet is good to go. So anyone have any suggestions on a good head for metal (without kicking my wallets ass)
Too many motards...
Not that useful without an actual budget, what one person considers cheap may not be the same for another.

Basically if you can grab something along the lines of a Peavey 6505, 5150 (or the cheaper bugera equivalent 6260 or 6262), Peavey XXX or JSX would get you what you want - obviously used.
here's a couple

https://elmira.craigslist.org/msg/5972754580.html
https://allentown.craigslist.org/msg/5966992515.html

if you go to the Guitar Center website and browse their used section there will be lots to choose from, I think you can get them to ship amps to your closest store - not sure though I am in Canada and don't have Guitar Centers.
Without a budget its hard to say, but JetCity is a safe bet. They do awesome metal tones, especially with an overdrive in the front. If you are from europe, its pretty much the best bet, because the 6505's and xxx's are way more expensive here. If you are from the states, then check those out as well.
Joža je kul. On ma sirove z dodatki pa hambije.