Looking for opinions. Legitimate learning tool or just a toy?
Be excellent to each other ☺
Paully
I haven't played it for myself but from what I've seen and read... I would recommend it strictly to an absolute beginner. It's definitely a good learning tool but it's very limited in what it offers. I would say most people after playing 6 months or so wouldn't get any benefit from it.
Can it help you? Probably, at least if you're just starting out. Are there ways of learning guitar out there that I would dare to call objectively better? Absolutely. I think it's price would be better spent towards guitar lessons.
Quote by Jet Penguin
Theory: Not rules, just tools.

Quote by Hail
*note that by fan i mean that guy who wants his friends to know he knows this totally obscure hip band that only he knows about with 236 views on youtube. lookin' at Kev here
Oh definitely, I've been learning rhythm guitar for over a year and the transition to lead is going smoothly with the game.
Quote by Kevätuhri
Can it help you? Probably, at least if you're just starting out. Are there ways of learning guitar out there that I would dare to call objectively better? Absolutely. I think it's price would be better spent towards guitar lessons.
TBH, you'd be lucky to get 2 lessons for the price. What it is is a reasonable practice accessory.
I tried the original version then the 2014 version, i could never get on with it both times,

I feel like you have to train yourself to associate the colors on the game with strings so they become muscle memory.
I was struggling to play simple songs on there because i would get confused with the strings or it suddenly changed in difficulty and hit me with a chord from nowhere expecting me react to play it at song speed. I know you can push a button to repeat sections in slow motion but it felt like a hassle to me.