I'm new to recording music and pretty much got my setup complete. I use reaper with biasfx, guitar plugged into focusrite 2i2..superior drummer and a few other plugins for orchestra and other sounds.

I've been told many times to invest in studio monitors rather than using the computer's built in speakers or headphones. I don't have a ton to spend though, Ideally I'd like to spend around 100-200 dollars. Some lower price ones that I have found in the area are M-audio AV40s and BX5a but I've heard from a lot of people to stay away from M-audios as they are not very good.

I'd rather spend a little more on a good brand although as I am just starting I don't want something too fancy either. As far as music, I'm mostly just recording progressive metal. From crisp cleans to heavy OD.

I don't know what I need. I get people telling me to invest in the most high end monitors out there but do I need that? I just need something to listen back to while I'm in my room tracking with my guitar
Last edited by daddyorca at Jan 31, 2017,
daddyorca The Bx5a were offered to me by a friend for 60 but although that is pretty much dirt cheap, if these aren't good ones I'd much rather not spend the money.
AudioTechnica ATH-M50x

For around $150, I think it does the job well enough
If you want to shell out $300 for really flat tone, ATH-M70x
Gear:
- ESP LTD MH-50
- Strandberg OS 7
- A cheap fender strat knock-off not worth naming
- Garageband
- Boss GT-1
- Potato
I'll start by telling you what you don't want to hear. You're asking about a product that most people spend about $1000 on. To use that as a point of reference, you're asking what you should get with a budget of only about 10-20% of that.

You can see how that makes it a difficult question - even on the used market.

I'd keep saving if I were you. Anything you get now will not meet your needs for very long at all, and you'll wind up buying again.