Greetings all,

I am a pretty novice guitar player. I have an Agile 3010se with sd sentient and nazgul pickups. I mostly played just using amplitube software, plugging my guitar into my audio interface. I was interested in using trying some hardware so purchased an orange micro dark and and crush 20rt. The cabsim feature seemed ideal for me for bedroom recording purposes. I checked out a number of online reviews and demos, everything from pro demos to youtube bedroom users with a variety of guitars, and the sound was consistent. I plugged them in and was surprised how poor it sounded with my setup. I now have noticed that the issue is present when I use amplitube, but its not as noticeable. Both amps displayed similar negative characteristics so ruled out them being faulty. Headphones and audio interface sound the same so don't think it has to do with my interface. Also swapped a few guitar cables to rule that out.

With the micro dark, I tested moving the volume and gain knobs around and it seemed to me to just go from flat and somewhat dull to extremely crushed, without much in between. Moving the shape knob wasn't much better. Turned down sounds cutoff and sorta weak, and turned up sounds squashed and fizzy. It didn't seem to get a whole lot better moving it all around in between. At this point I thought it had to be in the guitar. I took it into guitar center, grabbed a relatively cheap guitar, plugged it in, and it sounded much better to my ears, much closer to what i heard in demos. Tweaking the gain and shape knobs seemed to respond as I envisioned. So then I am certain its my guitar. I moved my pickups up and down, adjusted the pole pieces, not really any better. So I take it my local shop, and they check it out and tell me everything appears to be in working order and no issues.